Pianotech

• 1.  Old wurlitzer vs new yamaha

Posted 05-03-2023 11:34

Greetings everyone.  I am a new Piano Technician and my church asked for my advice.  A newer Yamaha Grand (GC1) was donated to the church by a widowed member.  The church currently has an old Wurlitzer Grand (C173HPE) which is beautiful, and to look at it no one would believe when it was manufactured (probably 1930s). Both pianos are the same size, however they currently have room for only one Piano on stage.  I suggest keeping the new Piano (Probably a no brainer) however l would still like to have more professional opinions.
    Best Regards 
    -Brian

------------------------------
    Brian Graves
    Leander TX

• 2.  RE: Old wurlitzer vs new yamaha

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 05-03-2023 12:56
    Those 1930’s Wurlitzers were good instruments. So a lot has to do with the tone, power, and action of each instrument. How does the Yamaha sound and play compared to the Wurlitzer? Maybe put the other piano in the choir room.

Wim

Sent from my iPhone

• 3.  RE: Old wurlitzer vs new yamaha

Posted 05-03-2023 15:13

Hi Brian,

Welcome! In answer to your question, I would get the opinions of a few people and take a vote. The pianist and music director for starters. Is it possible to set up both pianos in the same room and do a side by side comparison? What you're looking for is two things. One, which piano feels good and sounds better in that room. Two, the overall condition of them. Which is going to hold up better over time?

If you can get feedback from the involved people on the first and then come up with your own assessment for the second, that should give you a good idea of which direction you want to move. I have a feeling both you and they will agree, but if not, it could be a good chance for you to explain some of the technical things to people who've never heard them before. 

Good luck!

Benjamin Sanchez, RPT
    Piano Technician / Artisan
    (256) 947-9999