Pianotech

• 1.  Rocker actions

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 05-24-2022 10:39
    Hey Folks,

I enjoy reading your muses here, thank you!

Is there any info out there on servicing rocker actions? I get by on the rare occasion I see one, but wondered , as I often do, what I don’t know!

Tried a journal search with no results.

Andy

Andrew J. Lyford, RPT
    3355 Mount Olivet Rd
    Martinsville, VA 24112

pianotechandy@gmail.com

1-276-732-6290

“A painter paints their pictures on canvas. Musicians paint their pictures on silence”. Leopold Stokowski

• 2.  RE: Rocker actions

Posted 05-24-2022 12:53
    I'm no expert, but the way I have regulated them in the past is to visualize them kind of like a see saw. When one end goes up, the other end goes down. 

What makes it a little more complicated is what do you do when you want the back of the rocker to go up to eliminate lost motion, for instance, but it can't because the screw that's holding the back end is too far down, which makes it kind of like a really fat person sitting on the other end of the see saw, and you're only 75 lbs? So, you have to loosen the back screw first. Or, what do you do when the front of the rocker is already down on the key? In that case you have to do a double release. Loosen the front and back a few turns, and then see where you're at.  

It's not very complicated and you'll get the hang of it after doing a few keys. 

Wim

• 3.  RE: Rocker actions

Posted 05-24-2022 13:27
    Thank you guys, I do have the tool and have had good luck adjusting the rockers in the past, but your comments are helpful and appreciated. I was wondering about taking the action apart for service, that sort of thing. I will have to do some key work. Looks like I can get by without detaching all the keys.