CAUT

• 1.  Inadequate CAUT Pay (and how to address it?)

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 02-17-2024 14:53

At the start of this year I let my admin team know that this will be my last semester at UNL (marking 6 school years). It has been a rewarding and professionally and personally enriching experience, and I'm a far better technician today than I would have been had I simply continued on with my private tuning business. That said, I've had my share of frustrations, from the 90mi/day commuting toll, to navigating a few (but not many, thankfully) difficult personalities, but chief among my frustrations has been the complete wage stagnation. My starting pay was essentially the same as Richard West's pay when he retired from the position 18 years ago, and now, 6 years later, I'm actually bringing home less per paycheck than when I started, thanks in part to the retirement plan kicking in after a year and a "raise" last year that didn't come close to making up for that. Factor in inflation and cost-of-living increases (without the accompanying increases in salary) and the fiscal reality is even worse.

I knew going into the position that the pay was low for the workload (now 111 instruments), but at the time it made sense for me, as I was relatively new to the state, had only been working full time as a tech for a couple years (as a result of the slow grind of building up the business after moving, while working a secondary part time job), and while it was a slight pay cut at the time, the benefits are nice, and more crucially, I assumed that the pay would at least increase at some appreciable, if slow, rate, particularly if my job performance was good. I did not anticipate taking home less after 6 years at the position.