CAUT

Expand all | Collapse all

Piano Tech position at State University

• 1.  Piano Tech position at State University

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 04-27-2023 13:39
    Hi,
    I've been the piano tech at UMass Amherst for the past 21 years and last August I let them know that this would be my last year. I've been an independent contractor and they want to move to a salaried full time position. All well and good. They've proposed a position with a salary of $77,000 and benefits. This is what came back to them:
    --------

I would recommend writing the position description and submitting it so that we can figure out what classification is best suited for the job. We did a little bit of market research, and piano tuner positions at other universities were paid significantly less than the $77,000 proposed in the department's budget request.

--------
    They're looking for guidance on how to respond. If anyone has been through this and has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated. 

By the way, the position has not been approved (obviously) so please don't go looking for a way to apply for it. When, and if, it's approved, I'll post it here.

thanks,
    Aaron 

------------------------------------
    Aaron Bousel
    413-253-3846

• 2.  RE: Piano Tech position at State University

Posted 04-27-2023 15:13
    One piece of advice I would give the school is for that kind of salary, the school should be able attract a seasoned, at least 5 years, piano tuner who has some rebuilding experience in addition to some concert work, and possibly even an RPT. 

• 3.  RE: Piano Tech position at State University

Posted 04-27-2023 15:41

Aaron,