Harpsichord

View Only
  • 1.  Plastic jacks in general

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 04-26-2023 13:40
    This brings up a point that’s been on my mind a lot. I take care of several instruments, Dowd, Hubbard, Herz and Kingston, that are old enough that tongues are failing and and jacks themselves are occasionally warped, maybe it’s more of a problem in New Orleans heat. Has anyone thought of 3D printing replacements? They’re all molded and unless you have access to the molds I don’t know how you get replacements. The instruments themselves are still lively sounding and solid. I’ve no knowledge of how hard it would be to set up and print replicas but if they can print guns a jack and tongue shouldn’t be impossible?

And yes to Ed’s method, that’s exactly how I do it.

---Dave

Sent from my phone, forgive typos!

> On Apr 25, 2023, at 9:09 PM, Ed Sutton via Piano Technicians Guild <mail@connectedcommunity.org> wrote:
    >
    > A detail on cutting the jacks to length: Number the jacks, install tongues and plectra, lay them on a board, side-by-side and line up the tops to a straight edge.
    > Pick one jack per octave and trim it to perfect length in the harpsichord, then return it to the line of jacks. Draw a line between the cut jacks to indicate the cutting lengths for the rest of the jacks.
    > Cutting with a razor saw using an Exacto mini mitre box goes quickly.
    > [I think I got this from Richard Kingston.]
    ></mail@connectedcommunity.org>

• 2.  RE: Plastic jacks in general

Posted 04-26-2023 15:14
    Mark Purney of Supply88 does a lot of 3D printing. Presumably it is possible to do with harpsichord jacks. The question is whether that would be less expensive than wooden ones. http://www.harpsichordjacks.net/ makes wood jacks to order for around $8 each (they also make guides and registers).