Pianotech

Expand all | Collapse all

Advice on reducing a beginner's tuning time

• 1.  Advice on reducing a beginner's tuning time

Posted 07-27-2022 19:48
    Hi, Folks. I'm a beginner who started business the middle of this month. Previous to this, I finished the tuning section on Rick Butler's course. I've begun tuning for my first client, which is probably the most suitable I could hope for: a county school system. I have my first in-home client this Friday, (whom I've duly warned of what I'm about to mention.)

I have a serious problem that's plaguing me: my tuning time is terrible. So far, unless the piano is already partly in tune, I've faced times upwards of 4.5-5 hours. This, of course, isn't great. In fact, it's no good, and it's exhausting.

Granted, some practice tunings aside, I am only on my 10th paid tuning. That said, this just seems untenable. I'm wondering if I'm not just being a bit perfectionist in my tunings, as even after such a lengthy tuning, I'm still often disatisfied. I'd hate the idea of delivering a bad tuning, but I'm beginning to see I may risk poor service all the same by taking so long.

On the advice of another tuner, I'm planing to start really limiting myself in time; having an overall time limit (maybe starting with 3hrs), as well as limits on certain parts, like tuning the treble, unisons, etc., doing my best within those constraints, then moving on.

In any case, I wanted to ask y'all about your experience as a beginner, your perspective on what I've said, and how you'd advise me to help address it.

I'm grateful for any input. Thank you very much

Update #1 7-28-2022: