Voicing

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Side needle info

• 1.  Side needle info

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 30 days ago

Hi PTG Voicing,

I'm looking for some info on side needle voicing. I've seen Keith Akins' article "Voicing for the Rest of Us" referenced (Journal?), but I'm having trouble locating that. Any other experience or writeups available would be greatly appreciated.

------------------------------
    All the finest,
    Nate Reyburn, RPT

http://www.reyburntools.com

• 2.  RE: Side needle info

Posted 29 days ago

Hi Nate-

I was first exposed to side needling in 2007 while working the Bosendorfer/ Schimmel competition when I was a technician at Arizona State. Schimmel recommended side needling in the bass hammers in the wound strings to reduce some of the more metallic mid rangey sound that their concert grand had in that area. It worked to great effect and I continue to use the techniques.

Best-

David

David C. Brown RPT
    Garland TX
    tunermandb88.com

• 3.  RE: Side needle info

Posted 28 days ago
    David,
    Specifically, where did they suggest you side needle? Similar to the Akins' article?

Vince Mrykalo  드림

An error in thinking does not become truth by reason of multiplied propagation, nor does truth become error because nobody sees it.

OSU  Greenwood School of Music

Visit my blog at:  http://mrykalopiano.blogspot.com/

• 4.  RE: Side needle info

Posted 28 days ago

I'm curious to know that also. My somewhat limited experience with side voicing has been that it's largely ineffective, so I'd be interested to know how you got the results you did. 

Benjamin Sanchez, RPT
    Piano Technician / Artisan
    (256) 947-9999
    www.professional-piano-services.com

• 5.  RE: Side needle info

Posted 28 days ago
    I have experimented with side needling from time to time. A few things to consider:
    • it is hard to hold the hammer securely so no damage is done