CAUT

• 1.  smoke damage

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 02-19-2023 15:59
    A good friend of mine has unfortunately had a house fire which has sent smoke/ hydrocarbons/ the usual particles all through his house. He has a Steinway M which apparently is covered with smoke particles. I have not seen the piano, but he is concerned that not only is the soundboard dirty, but that the action especially has been affected. It apparently was a pretty severe fire, as he has had to seek lodging elsewhere for what promises to be several months if not longer.
    I have no experience whatsoever with damage of this sort, and at this point in my career I don't have the bandwidth or interest in pursuing whatever remedy is needed.
    Any suggestions/ interest in addressing this problem would be greatly appreciated.
    I can be reached at 216/381-5662.  email= kabat.stephen@gmail.com

------------------------------
    [Stephen] [Kabat]
    [Lyndhurst] [Ohio]
    kabat.stephen@gmail.com
    [216/381-5662

• 2.  RE: smoke damage

Posted 02-19-2023 16:20
    Stephen,
    I would suggest that damage from smoke is only one of the issues. Along with the smoke came extreme heat. But perhaps what can cause even more damage is from the steam or direct water necessary to put out the fire.
    Unfortunately, depending on the extremes, some pianos are no longer fixable. More information is needed to determine that.
    For cleaning and other advice regarding fire damage to pianos contact Dave Schwarz, RPT in Rosemont, MN (952) 432-5232
    He can advise you further with expert knowledge in this area

Regards,
    ~ jeannie

Jeannie Grassi
    PTG Registered Piano Technician
    Bainbridge Island, WA
    206-842-3721
    grassipianos@gmail.com

• 3.  RE: smoke damage

Posted 02-19-2023 17:05
    Stepen