Pianotech

Expand all | Collapse all

What is the best hammer boring jig to use for boring hammers with a rake angle?

• 1.  What is the best hammer boring jig to use for boring hammers with a rake angle?

Posted 27 days ago

I am new at boring hammers and do not yet own a hammer boring jig. Because the way some of my pianos are set up, I may need to bore hammers with a slight rake angle, maybe at 91% instead of the typical 90%, perpendicular angle. From your experience, which are the best boring jigs to use in order to easily bore hammer with a slight rake angle?

------------------------------
    Joe Burros
    Cell: 646-410-7174
    jbcello@gmail.com
    www.fmi-newengland.com

• 2.  RE: What is the best hammer boring jig to use for boring hammers with a rake angle?

Registered Piano Technician
    Posted 27 days ago

Joe,

The Brooks, Ltd. fixture is what I have used when I need to bore my own. Although not super intuitive it gets the job done. If they don't make it anymore you can borrow mine. I.normally have them fully prepared at Ronsen. They do a great job. 

Peter Grey Piano Doctor 

Peter Grey
    Stratham NH
    (603) 686-2395
    pianodoctor57@gmail.com

• 3.  RE: What is the best hammer boring jig to use for boring hammers with a rake angle?

Posted 26 days ago

Thanks Peter, I think I'll take you up on borrowing that jig, so I can see if I like it.

Joe Burros
    jbcello@gmail.com
    www.fmi-newengland.com

• 4.  RE: What is the best hammer boring jig to use for boring hammers with a rake angle?

Posted 27 days ago

I'm partial to the jig Ragland Piano sells. It's set up for 15° boring angle in either direction and up to 10° rake. You can put a shim underneath the sacrificial piece to accommodate any thickness hammer molding. Mine came with a reference table of recommended shims for different thickness moldings.